The state of Texas is among the top five states known for issuing highway violations. In a state as vast as Texas, it is indeed unavoidable for law enforcement officers to be strict and vigilant in implementing traffic rules and regulations for the safety of its citizens. It is also to ensure that discipline is in practice at all times. It prevents accidents as well as heavy traffic. As a newcomer in the state, it is always best to get familiarised with the traffic laws and limits to avoid getting on the wrong foot with the authorities. And in case you get arrested for a violation, it is best to seek the assistance of attorneys who specialize in the field. For example, one of the most common violations is Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), this will stay in your record forever if not appropriately handled by experts in the field such as the Butler Law Firm. Moving forward, these are the top highway violations in the state of Texas.
Table of Contents
Driving Without a License
It is a pervasive violation not just in Texas but in the entire United States. It is often the result of simple neglect or forgetfulness. However, some are not yet qualified to drive, but they still do. First-time offenders may receive a fine of $200. It eventually increases for every violation of the same kind plus additional fees. To avoid this, it is best if you always put your driver’s license in a safe compartment in your car.
Driving While Intoxicated
Thousands of significant road accidents are because of drivers being intoxicated. In the state, the legal limit for drinking when driving is 0.08. It is 0.04 for commercial drivers and 0.02 for drivers under 21 years of age. It is advisable not to get drunk when driving as it is hazardous. It will not just jeopardize your life but the life of other people with you and the pedestrian and other drivers as well. First-time offenders have a fine of up to $2000 plus revocation of their driver’s license for 90 days and imprisonment of 72 hours to 180 days depending on the gravity of the offense.
It is considered to be one of the most common and most natural highway violation to break. There are many reasons why drivers exceed the speed limit, but one of them is because the fine is just around $1 to $200. However, this might cause severe consequences like accidents or even death, so it is better to abide by the speed limits at all times.
Running a Red Light
Running a red light is very common especially since most people have very tight schedules. This violation, however, may result in accidents. Besides that, Texas is one of the 24 states which makes use of red light cameras so you can still get caught even without a cop close.
Using Cellphones while Driving
Texas has a ban on texting while driving as it has caused many accidents already. It is a rule that most drivers don’t seem to follow although it is straightforward. Sometimes, these simple rules can save many lives and can keep you from a lot of trouble. If you need to text, then park at the side of the road first.